You are using an unsupported browser. Please update your browser to the latest version on or before July 31, 2020.
close
Home > NEW! Shift v8.4 > How to update from v7 Legacy to v8.4
How to update from v7 Legacy to v8.4
print icon

This release is live on Alpha and Beta v8.4. Click here if you’d like to subscribe to either channel.

 

The wait is finally over! v7 users, it’s finally time to make the leap over to v8.4. Before you update and get access to the new version of Workspaces, there are some important steps to follow. Keep reading to find out what steps to take and what to expect when you move over to the best version of Shift so farūü•≥

For a summary of all the features available in v8.4, click here 

 

Check out this FAQ regarding this update and all that is new here.

 

Step 1. Export passwords

Before downloading v8.4 please ensure you export all your v7 passwords. You can follow the instructions found here: How to Export your Passwords

 

Please note, that, unlike in v7, passwords in v8.4 are not synced to Shift’s servers. This means that your saved passwords are not synced across multiple computers and are saved locally only. To avoid the potential loss of your saved passwords, we highly recommend using a password manager such as 1Password or Bitwarden. You can add these as extensions in v8.4 once you’re there! 

 

Step 2. Download v8.4 via the Alpha channel

Shift v8.4 is currently available in the Alpha channel. If you’re keen to gain early access, you must download the Alpha version of Shift. Click here to download the Alpha. Once on this page, click Alpha to begin the download.

 

Step 3. Import v7 Workspaces

Once you’ve logged into Shift v8.4 you should receive a special update prompt. NOTE: there might be a slight delay after downloading Alpha and getting this special update dialog. To speed up the process, try a hard refresh of Shift by pressing Cmd Shift R or Ctrl Shift R on your keyboard.

 

When you see this prompt, click “Continue”

 

 

Next, you will important your v7 Workspaces. If you choose to "Skip" this step, you will permanently lose your previous Workspaces and will not be able to recover them. Later, once set up you will be able to delete or edit all Workspaces as needed. If you would like a fresh start you may skip this step.

 

 

Almost there…

 

 

Success! Now you can go and enjoy all that Shift v8.4 has to offer! 

 

 

Step 4. Import your passwords

If you exported passwords from v7, you can import them into v8. Click here for step-by-step instructions.

Please note, that, unlike in v7, passwords in v8.4 are not synced to Shift’s servers. This means that your saved passwords are not synced across multiple computers and are saved locally only. To avoid the potential loss of your saved passwords, we highly recommend using a password manager such as 1Password or Bitwarden. You can add these as extensions!

 


What's Next?

Need more help? Get in touch with the Support team anytime!

scroll to top icon