The majority of data for Shift is stored locally on your computer. This is designed on purpose to help ensure maximum security! Shift is as secure as your computer is. Some data, however, is sent to and stored on Shift's servers, allowing you to access the same features even if you get logged out (local data cleared) or want to use Shift on another computer. Opened web tabs and pinned tabs are stored locally! See more below 👇🌈
What data gets saved?
Data that gets sent to Shift's servers and gets saved regardless of if you get logged out of your Primary Shift Account or access your account on another computer includes:
- The accounts, apps, and Workspaces you've added to your setup
- Bookmarks within your Workspaces
- Theme and sidebar style settings
- General settings
- Password data (if the Backup & Sync setting is turned on)
What data is local (not saved)?
Most of the data in Shift is stored locally on your computer and gets cleared if you log out of your Primary Shift Account or access your Shift account on another computer. This includes:
- Browsing history
- Opened web tabs and pinned tabs
- Data that keeps you logged into your accounts
- The order your accounts, apps, and Workspaces appear in your sidebar
This means, if you ever get logged out of your Primary Shift Account or want to use Shift on another computer, this data will not be accessible. This is why you need to log into all accounts if you want to use Shift on another computer.
A note about Workspaces
If you're using Workspaces to help you organize various web tabs, you must save them as Bookmarks. Bookmarks are data that gets synced with Shift's servers, so you'll always have access, even if you get logged out.
Logging out of your Primary Shift Account clears your local Shift data, which means opened and pinned web tabs will clear and you'll be prompted to log back into all your accounts again.
Once your local data gets cleared, whether that's from an intentional logout or app data reset, or unintentional (such as after a major Shift update), there is no way to restore it. You must log back into your accounts and open back up for your previously opened web tabs.
Learn more about the Shift browser here.
Learn more about Workspaces here.