You are using an unsupported browser. Please update your browser to the latest version on or before July 31, 2020.
close
Home > Password Management > How to destroy your Password Vault (Windows)
How to destroy your Password Vault (Windows)
print icon

If you've lost your Vault Password or believe it may have been accessed by someone else, you may have to destroy your existing Password Vault and create a new one. Below are the steps you can use to destroy your Password Vault in Shift.

Destroying your Vault will delete all password data. The destruction of your Vault is a permanent action that cannot be reversed. 

 

How to destroy your vault (Windows)

  1. Fully close Shift (press Ctrl Q on your keyboard)

  2. Search for "Credentials" from your desktop search bar > select "Credential Manager" > select "Windows Credentials"

  3. Find "Shift Secure Vault/Shift" and expand it on the right-hand side

  4. Select "Remove" and follow the prompt

  5. Launch the Shift desktop application

  6. You should be immediately prompted to enter your Vault Password or destroy your vault. Select "Destroy Vault" and follow the prompt

 

After your vault is destroyed, you can start fresh and build a new Vault by importing your passwords or saving them manually.

You can also destroy your Vault by logging into your Primary Shift Account on another computer and following the destroy vault process from the in-app prompts.

 


What's next?

Find out how to import your passwords from your browser into Shift here. 

 

Learn about the importance of saving your Emergency Kit here.

 

Need help?

Get in touch with our support team here.

Feedback
0 out of 0 found this helpful

scroll to top icon