You are using an unsupported browser. Please update your browser to the latest version on or before July 31, 2020.
close
IMPORTANT UPDATE: A new version of Shift is coming! It's faster, lighter, and offers a better browsing experience. Click here to learn more.
announcement close button
Home > Password Management > About the Backup and Sync setting
About the Backup and Sync setting
print icon

If you want to save your password data and be able to access your passwords across multiple computers, you must keep the Backup & Sync Passwords setting enabled in your password options (this setting is enabled by default). This setting allows your encrypted password data to be synced with Shift's servers. If you ever need to clear your Shift app data, your passwords will be available and when you log into Shift on another computer, you can access your password data by decrypting it from Shift's servers using your Vault Password.

It is recommended that this setting remains on to ensure that your passwords are never lost. 

 

Read more about your Emergency Kit and Vault Password here.

 

Read more about how Shift keeps your password data safe here.

 

 

Where to find the Backup & Sync Passwords setting

  1. Go to Options (lower left corner) > Settings > Passwords > Options

  2. Toggle Backup & Sync Passwords ON

 


What's next?

Find out how to view and save your Shift emergency kit here

 

Learn about how your password data is kept safe here.

Feedback
2 out of 2 found this helpful

scroll to top icon