You are using an unsupported browser. Please update your browser to the latest version on or before July 31, 2020.
close
Home > Help & Troubleshooting > How to delete your Shift account
How to delete your Shift account
print icon

If you're looking to delete your Shift account due to a technical issue, please reach out to our Support team! Although we'll be sad to see you go, we'd love to connect to either help troubleshoot any issues or facilitate your request. 😎

 

IMPORTANT: If you have an active subscription, you must cancel it before requesting an account deletion. Learn how to cancel your subscription here.

 

If you'd like to delete your Shift account, here's what you'll need to do:

 

  1. Uninstall Shift from your computer (see our links below for step-by-step instructions)
  2. Complete an account deletion request (see below for step-by-step instructions) 

Uninstall Shift on Mac here.

Uninstall Shift on Windows here.

 

What's the difference between a regular data deletion and a full data deletion?

At Shift, personal and anonymous data is collected from you, as outlined in our Privacy Policy (you must agree to our Privacy Policy when you create a Shift account during the onboarding process).

 

With a regular data deletion, you'll be fully unsubscribed from all mailing lists but some personal and the data that we collect and use in our third-party tools (e.g.  Facebook, Google, Customer.io, Sendgrid, Happyfox, Mixpanel) will not be deleted. The remaining data is primarily only used for internal purposes after we delete your account from our servers, and most of the remaining data cannot be used to identify you personally. However, some of the remaining data, particularly in Facebook and Google, may be used for targeted advertising. This means you may continue to receive targeted ads for Shift after your account has been deleted. 

 

With a full data deletion, all personal and anonymous data we collect and use in our third-party tools, along with all data from Shift's servers gets deleted. You'll also be fully unsubscribed from all mailing lists. Residents under Applicable Data Law have the right to a full account deletion. If you're a resident in any of the following jurisdictions, you can request a full deletion:

 

How to request a regular data deletion

  1. Uninstall Shift (see our links above for how to do that based on your operating system)
  2. Click "Quick Help" on the lower right corner of any Knowledge Base page
  3. Select "Accounts, Payments, and Pricing" then select "I'd like to delete my account"
  4. Select "Regular Deletion" and follow the prompts

How to request a full data deletion

  1. Uninstall Shift (see our links above for how to do that based on your operating system)
  2. Click "Quick Help" on the lower right corner of the page
  3. Select "Accounts, Payments, and Pricing" then select "I'd like to delete my account"
  4. Select "Full Deletion" and specify where you currently reside.

What's next?

View FAQs about Shift's Privacy Policy here.

 

Want to opt-out of the processing of your data? Learn how here.

 

Read more about Privacy and Security in Shift here.

 

scroll to top icon