You are using an unsupported browser. Please update your browser to the latest version on or before July 31, 2020.
close
Home > Using Shift 🚀 > Logging out of Shift
Logging out of Shift print icon

When you log out of Shift you are essentially resetting your application data. This process clears out Shift and resets the entire program. 

Upon resetting your application data, your accounts get logged out, passwords are not saved, and the entire Shift application gets a fresh start. 

 

If you want to avoid signing into things again, then instead of signing out of Shift at the end of the day, exit instead. To do so on Mac, Windows, or Linux, simply right click the Shift icon in the nav bar and choose Close Window or Quit from the drop down. 

 

In some cases apps will logout regularly even if you aren't specifically logging out Shift. This is most common in apps that have their own timer for extra security. Think banking and finance apps, or anything that deals with personal information, billing info or the like. Learn more about that here

 

If you do want to sign out, follow the steps below:

 

Mac 

  1. Enable the app menu in Settings > General > Appearance and toggling 'Show title bar' on
  2. Navigate to the top menu bar 
  3. Select the "Shift" drop-down option
  4. Select "Sign out of Shift"

 

Windows 

  1. Enable the app menu by going to Settings > General > Appearance and toggling 'Show app menu' on
  2. Now, go to the top menu bar and click on Application
  3. Select "Sign out of Shift."

 

Linux

  1. Enable the app menu by going to Settings > General > Appearance and toggling 'Show app menu' on
  2. Now, go to the top menu bar and click on Application
  3. Select "Sign out of Shift."

 


What's next?

Learn about our new password management feature here.

 

Find answers to common questions here.

 

Need help?

Get in touch with our support team here.

Feedback
13 out of 35 found this helpful

scroll to top icon